18 replies to this topic

#1 gardnergirl2

gardnergirl2

Intermediate Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 208 posts

Posted 09 March 2009 - 06:19 AM

First of all, this forum has been invaluable to me. I am a new business this year, and just thought I would ask. I think most people would agree that in person, especially for a new business, advertising is best right? My plan is this: I pick at least one, if not two afternoons per week after school (3:30-5) and go to daycares, other schools, churches, to give them my info. My plan is to take full days in the summer ( I am a teacher) and do this as well. Do you think I would be better off to do a mass mail blitz and combine that with the in person? That seems like a "duh" question and probably is. I was just wondering how many do their marketing in person. I am also small, so I like to be able to answer the "what all do you have" question in person. It just goes better...Thanks!

#2 Zman118

Zman118

Old Timer Super User-Forum Junkie

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1470 posts

Posted 09 March 2009 - 07:39 AM

After reading your post, it seems to me that you have all ready made up your mind in doing it personally - I quote: 'I am also small, so I like to be able to answer the "what all do you have" question in person. It just goes better...Thanks!'.

Having said that, I feel that you are wasting your time doing it that way, time that could be more productive by making a website and working on its ranking, also by a mass mailing to the entities that you are targeting. They will contact you (which is when you can answer all their questions personally) when they have a need for your services - that would be a more productive use of your marketing time.